Rugby League World Cup 2021 to announce team bases

Rugby League World Cup 2021 to announce team bases

The Rugby League World Cup 2021 is set to announce team bases for next year’s tournament – with Warrington waiting in anticipation to hear what national team will be coming to town.

The official announcement of where the tournament’s competing countries will be based, will take place on the morning of 10 June. The team announcement also coincides with 500 days to go until the tournament begins.

Council Chief Executive, Professor Steven Broomhead, who was part of the RLWC2021 bid group for Warrington, said: “We’re all eagerly waiting to hear which team we’ll be hosting, and which country they’ll be coming from.

“I’m personally hoping for a team as electrically vibrant as Samoa, who we hosted for the World Cup in 2013. We were a town that fell in love with our adopted team, and I’m sure whoever we get again for next year’s tournament, we will throw our full support behind.”

Warrington will be one of 18 hosts playing an important part in the tournament. Warrington’s initial bid to be a host was based on legacy and the long-lasting community benefits the tournament will bring. The bid submitted by the task group explored the social, health, educational and cultural benefits that being a host town would create, alongside a Warrington-wide celebration of Rugby League.

The other towns and cities confirmed to be hosting are:

  • Bolton 
  • Coventry
  • Doncaster 
  • Hull 
  • Kirklees
  • Leeds 
  • Liverpool 
  • London 
  • Manchester 
  • Newcastle
  • Preston 
  • Sheffield 
  • St Helens
  • Tees Valley 
  • Trafford/Salford   
  • Wigan/Leigh 
  • York 

For more information about the tournament, visit

Related Posts